Those of you who know me, know I have a large garden. I like growing my own stuff. I like having stuff I grew around to eat all winter. I like NOT paying for veggies that I’m perfectly capable of growing myself. Also, my husband and kids are pickle fiends. Right after we returned from our trip to see Josh’s sister up in Montana, we had a major kitchen day. 20-some pounds of cherries. Pickled beans. Pesto. And Josh started brewing beer.

Today, the kitchen-marathon continues. To start the day off, I processed 76 cups of basil leaves. Yes you read that right. 76 cups. Or 4.75 gallons. Most of it belongs to work, and will be returned to work in the form of frozen basil paste. So yeah – yummy times at Mt. Rushmore. But a good bunch of it (6 pints roughly) is now pesto living in my freezer.

We also brought home a major haul of beets from my mom’s last night. The price for taking custody of said beets is one pint of pickled beets. I think that’s more than fair.

But this is the one that will get you. Guess what this is:

Spidey included for scale. That bag is one of their bigger bags. Not your standard grocery sack.

That’s right Girl, it’s beans. I’m going to guess that right now, sitting in my kitchen, is nearly 15 pounds of beans. Some will wind up married with dill, some will be waterboarded, er, I mean blanched, and frozen for the winter. Some are going straight in our bellies. And get this – I still have a ton out there. The pole beans are just starting to go crazy. Oh yeah, and I gave away another near 5 pounds the other night. It’s a good year for beans! You may want to remind me of my enthusiasm come February.

And lastly…

Yup, the first batch of beer is in the bottles.

Now you’ll have to excuse me. I need to get back to my beets. And snap some beans.

What are all y’all up to this weekend? Anybody else gettin’ busy in the kitchen? Anybody have an awesome can’t miss bean recipe they’d like to share?

