Are you ready for some more family? Of course you are. I promise a few of them are cute.

First off, it’s Thursday – Day 7 of the trip. It’s gone so quickly, and yet at times it seems we’ve been gone forever. To start the morning, the Boy and I head down for a quick dip in the pool. Then back to the room to starting packing up. Before we head out, we stock up on another fabulous breakfast. This is where that photo of the car comes in. We have the valet bring the car up and a bellman bring the bags down. Toss the kids in the car and start loading up the bags. Suddenly the Boy starts freaking out that he wants nothing by his feet. *sigh* Really?

Of course once he starts freaking out then the Girl starts freaking out. At this point I just shove everything in the car as fast as I can so we can hit the road. This is also where I start to suspect I’m leaving things behind. Because there seems to be more room in the backseat and the hatch doesn’t seem any extra full.

Where are we headed this morning? First out by O’Hare. We’re meeting my Uncle Chub for lunch. I haven’t seen him since the Boy and I went back to Illinois in 2009 to help Mom move. He’s never met the Girl. We have a wonderful time catching up but both kids are stir crazy. The Girl tries to keep the rest of the guests, um, “entertained” much to my chagrin. Thankfully there aren’t too many folks in one section and I can let her investigate.

A couple hours later and we’re back in the car, just in time for naps. A couple hours after that and we roll into Milwaukee. Josh is already here. Did I tell you that? He’s working the Sports Show. He arrived on Wednesday and will stay until Monday. We’re looking forward to seeing him.

We are staying at my brother’s house for the next few days. And the Boy is super excited. Quentin and his family came out to visit us this last fall and the Boy and Miss A totally hit it off. Ever since I told him we were going on this trip, he only talked about going to see Miss A.

Quentin collects his girls, then Josh. We hang out and play for awhile. Soon enough, it’s time for dinner. (Good grief, you’d think all we did was eat on this trip.) We finally decided on Five Guys. Wow. It was pretty dang awesome. Especially the fries.

I think a few of us thought we wouldn’t need to eat for the next 3 days.

After dinner, it’s back to the house to put the kids to bed, watch a little basketball and just hang out. Josh and I decide to live on the wild side. We leave both the kids to the care of Quentin, his wife Annie, and Mom while we head back to the hotel. I wasn’t worried one bit about the Girl. She had a nice dark windowless room to crash in, just the way she likes it. But I fully expected a call in the early morning hours saying the Boy was freaking out. Thankfully that call never came.

Friday morning I finally had the chance to put my workout clothes to use. After a spin on the elliptical and a shower, Josh and I headed across the street to Barnes and Noble for some Starbucks. And picked up a few books for Josh that were on super sale. Then off to catch up with the family. Plenty of play time and a nap for the Girl while we scheme. Josh will need to work the show this afternoon. Mom, Quentin, and I decide to take the kids to the Betty Brinn. Yes, another children’s museum.

The Girl loved the slide the best. It was small enough and with wide set stairs so she could do it all by her self. And boy was she proud.

Here’s Miss A.

And look! It’s my baby brother!

It just happened that the museum was having a Smokey Bear and Woodsy Owl exhibit. Before we left, we wanted to get a photo of Quentin, me, and the kids with Smokey.

Yeah. This is the best one of the bunch. At this point the Boy was being a total stinker and refusing to cooperate. Bribery with ice cream didn’t even work. (And hello Miss E! Nice to see you in there!)

So back home we go to torture Mom further. This time, we’re leaving her with all 4 kids, and Annie’s parents while we go out for a night on the town. Josh and I head back to the hotel to pick up our friend Johnny B who’s working the show with Josh. Then we head downtown to the Mason Street Grill.

Holy cow people. I love Greektown. And I love deep dish pizza. But this was hands down the most amazing meal of the trip. We started with some great wine that was on the happy hour special. Then crab cakes for an appetizer. For salad, I had the Signature Chopped Salad with Mustard Horseradish Dressing. Josh opted for the Golden and Baby Red Beet Salad. Johnny had the French Onion Soup. Which he shared with me.

For a main course, Josh selected one of the specials, Cioppino. I selected the Pan-Seared Diver Sea Scallops with creamy polenta and roasted wild mushrooms. (Heaven) Johnny selected the dry aged New York Strip with the Maytag Blue Cheese Crust and roasted wild mushrooms. Which he also shared with me. This is where I didn’t think it could get any better. Then they brought the desert menu. Creme Brulee? Yes please. I just cannot pass that up.

After we stuffed ourselves silly, it was only about 9 pm. Since we had onsite babysitters, one of which is a pro at putting kids to bed, we headed up the elevator to the 23rd floor and Blu, a martini bar.

(This would be Josh’s artistic shot. Note the logo through the glass.)

And to make my night utterly complete, Mr. Myles Hayes, a wonderful jazz singer. For drinks we chose the Honey Basil martini, and the Savior Faire Martini. Both tasty. We sat back, enjoyed the music, the company, and the view.

This would be my artistic shot.

This is the Wisconsin Gas Building. The color of the light tells the weather forecast. I’m putting the doggerel here for Quentin and Annie since they couldn’t remember what the colors meant.

When the flame is red, it’s warm weather ahead!
When the flame is gold, watch out for cold!
When the flame is blue, there’s no change in view!
When there’s a flickering flame, expect snow or rain!

There. Now if you’re every in Milwaukee, you’ll know what that light is telling you.

With that we sent Quent and Annie back to the house. Johnny B, Josh, and I headed back to the hotel. Not too late of a night since tomorrow it’s time to start the drive back home. Already! Can you believe it?


