Anybody still out there? Yeesh it’s been awhile. We’ve been busy little bees over here. The Boy is in swimming lessons two nights a week in the big city. That means about 1.5 hours in the car for a 0.5 hour lesson every Tuesday and Thursday. Plus basketball is in full swing. Of course I’ve been working hard on my 50 things list. And don’t forget working full time! And truth be told…I’ve been pondering. I started this here blog as a way to keep family and friends updated on the progress as we built our home. But what now? We’ve been in the house for a year and a half. Most of the big projects are done (there will always be a million little projects). Our lives are interesting to us, but maybe not many others. I don’t really have any desire to be a “mommy blogger”. And while I’m proud of the things I turn out, I’m certainly not a “crafty blogger”. And I don’t have the time and energy to come up with something witty and new for you folks on a regular basis. So where does that leave us? Probably with some sporadic postings for a bit until Stella gets her groove back.

Happy Valentine’s Day by the way! Did you and your beloved have a wonderful day? We were blessed with another day of gorgeous weather, 50 degree temps and sunny. Bit windy, but that’s okay. The kids and I took advantage of the freaky warmth and walked down to see the horses. The Boy was quite happy to see his friends again. The Girl not so much. I must have parked the stroller a bit closer than she preferred. When the first horse came up to the fence she started to howl and cry. Poor girl. Moved her back a few feet and she was okay keeping an eye on us. Must remember to bring carrots next time. Of course in exchange for the warm weather I’m fully expecting hideous cold temps and more snow than we know what to do with. I’m good with that.

I knocked off 3 (almost) projects for Valentine’s. First up, some bling for the girls.

These were so simple and so fun (read: fast) to make. I picked up some alligator type clips at Hobby Lobby since the Girl still has baby fine hair and nothing else works. Raided the crafty stash for some red, white, and pink felt, along with coordinating embroidery floss and away I went. I think I finished all 10 in about 2 hours, although not in one sitting.

They turned out a little larger than I would have liked, but that was determined by the size of the clip. She’ll grow into them and in the mean time I can wear them as well.

Evidence #1: I am not a crafty blogger: no “how-to” photos.

Evidence #2: I didn’t even take a picture of the back.

Oh well – if you’re interested, leave a comment or email me and I’ll tell you how I did it.

Next up on the project list, Valentine’s presents for the kids. Something fun. But also functional. In a few weeks my mom, the kids, and I will be embarking on an ambitious trip. We’ll be driving to middle Illinois to visit some of our favorite people on Earth, then trekking up for a few days enjoying Chi-town, then moving farther north to visit my brother in Milwaukee. Just so happens Josh will be working a sports show in MKE at that time, so we’ll see him for a bit too. Then back across 3 states to home. And so…

Traveling art cases. You can find tutorials for these all over the intarwebs. I looked at a few. And then I just winged it. Typical. And as such, the second turned out better than the first. And that’s why I started with the Girls first. Figured by the time she’s really into it, she’ll need a new one.

The train fabric is apparently an out of production Robert Kaufman Union Pacific design. If only I’d known when I purchased it…I love this and the coordinating fabric (give it a minute) and picked up a fat quarter of each at the local quilt fair back in September. They had a whole bin of the stuff but I wasn’t sure what I could do with it so I just bought a FQ of each. It appears it is now hard to find, and priced as such. Figures.

Here’s the inside with the coordinating fabric. Pocket on the left to hold colored pencils. Big pocket on the right for all the ephemera the Boy likes to collect while we travel. Art pad in the middle, held in place with a pocket the cardboard back fits snuggly in. Picked up the drawing pads for $0.99 and a big box of 50 colored pencils for about $2.

Here’s the inside of the Girls:

I have no idea what this fabric is or where I found it. I’m guessing Hobby Lobby. I think I was going to try to make a camera bag out of it. I decided I wasn’t that ambitious. Yet.

So there’s two crafty projects off the 50 Things list. I started a third for the hubby’s Valentine’s gift, but they didn’t turn out as well as I’d liked so I’m going to scrub them down and try again. They are basically a homemade version of this. But on over sized glass cafe mugs. I did give the guy the go ahead to sample the rest of his gift.

THE Glenlivet. Smooth. Warm. Yummy. Definitely worth savoring. Perfect for Valentine’s Day, eh?

I’ll give the glasses another go this weekend and see if I can’t work out the kinks. If not, then at least we have some cool mugs for our weekend coffee and tea.

In other news, the Girl is finally on her feet.

Movin’ and groovin’ and gettin’ into everything.  I admit I kinda miss the gorilla groove… Also, I am so posting this photo again in another 15 years. With a side by side comparison:

(Pardon the blur. I’m working on improving my camera skills and shooting in manual mode. I’ve got some ways to go.)

I guess that brings you up to date. On my schedule: St. Pat’s art for the frames, finish the Girl’s quilt, bring my 2011 Project Life up to date, finish my December Daily album (bit late? Yes ma’am.). Which means – in my best Ahnold – “I’ll be back.” See you then!

