So Thanksgiving was on Thursday.  Saturday was my mother- and father-in-laws 40th wedding anniversary.  Because we’re gluttons for punishment, we kids decided to throw them a surprise party.  Hey – the house was already clean so why not?

The happy couple.  Yes we made them cut the cake.

We actually managed to totally surprise them.  We thought for sure they’d know something was up, what with all the covert phone calls and not letting them drive and so on and so forth.  But nope, no idea.

Since it was Thanksgiving weekend, we had a relatively small crowd.  But that’s okay, it gave us more time to sit and talk and reminisce and tell tall tales.  Thanks to everyone who came and helped make their day so incredibly special.

But really, this is my blog.  Let’s talk about what I did, can we?

This was the gift I made them.  I finished at 3 pm on the day of the party.  Yes, yes, I am the Queen of Procrastination.

The traditional 40th anniversary gift is ruby, so I chose to make it in a jewel red fabric (with a black/darker red kind of queen anne’s lace/fuzzy dandelion print).  I’m sorry, I was in such a hurry I didn’t make a note of the fabric.  But I picked it up at Hancock’s.  The letters I printed off and then used a sharpie to trace onto the cream fabric and color in.  I used the free CK Jot font you can find here.

Here’s a shot of the back where you can kinda see the quilting.  And that I haven’t finished trimmed threads.  I went with a basket weave pattern in the empty space and just outlined the crossword part.  You can’t really tell the basket weave in this photo though because I haven’t finished clipping the dang threads…If you blow up the middle photo (just click on it) you can see the pattern better.

This is the third version of this style quilt and I love them.  The first was a Scrabble board quilt for my mom and my aunt, huge Scrabble players.  I’m afraid I don’t have a photo of it up on line.  Wow, that was a long time ago.  One of these days I’ll have to make mom a new one now that both of us kids are married with kids.  The second I made for my other Aunt.  You can see it here. My quilting was rather uninspiring…I’m just getting brave enough to venture beyond simple stitch-in-the-ditch.

I love how this one turned out.  I hate trimming threads, but it’s so worth it for such a cool quilting pattern.  I guess maybe I better finish trimming threads tonight so my in-laws can actually have it…

