Moving along the project list…

The kids are taking swimming lessons again this winter.  I think I mentioned that earlier.  And, thank goodness, they’re both absolutely loving it.  What I was not loving was hauling all the stuff.  Three towels.  Three swimsuits.  Swim diapers.  Regular diapers.  Changes of clothes.  Etc etc etc.  I have no bag big enough to haul all this, so I’d been hauling 3 bags along – one for towels, one for the suits and swim diapers, and the regular diaper bag with the extra clothes and regular diapers.  Sheesh!

Not any more thankyouverymuch.

(Um, once again, crappy light quality.  Polished this baby off at 9:30 pm tonight.  Uh-huh, having a full time job is detrimental to the quality of craft photos on my blog.  That and my impatience to post the results.)

I made this with Moda fabrics – Spirit Cocoa Bubbly and Spirit Moss Exuberance.  I’ll be honest, they weren’t my first choice.  I wanted some Amy Butler fabric.  But apparently no one here in the Hills carries her fabric and I was to impatient to wait until someone could ship it to me.  But that’s okay, ’cause I love my second choice.

For reference – here it is holding most of the stuff.  Want a real scale of reference?  It’s about the size of a hockey bag*.  But waaaaay lighter.  I used to haul one of those babies around you know, back when I was young and could stay up late enough for a midnight ice time.  Besides being lighter, this one is squishable, a quality most hockey bags lack.  The point I can was it up into a ball about the size of a football.  I made the straps a bit too long, but I figure that’s nothing a knot at the top won’t fix.

I had intended to make it reversible.  But then I decided to add a pocket.  Yea, I should have left it reversible.  Note to self:  don’t try to improv a pocket.  You ain’t that good.  I suppose I could always rip out the seams, add a funky “patch” over the hole, and wa-la!  Reversible again.

Something tells me I’m not that motivated.  Two projects down, uncountable more to go.

*Oh fine, you aren’t all from the great white tundra with an immediate knowledge of the size of a hockey bag?  22″ tall x 32″ wide.  Ish.

