As expected, Mother Nature decided everyone ought to really spend Saturday admiring the inside of our house rather than the outside.  Starting Friday night, the skies opened and buckets of rain came pouring down.  Seriously.  I haven’t witnessed that much rain in these parts since May.  It was kind enough to stop raining around 4, and the sun even made a brief appearance.  However the temps didn’t come much above 50 degrees all day.

Even still, we had over 40 people show (including kids) and from the comments I’ve heard they all had a smashing good time.  The food was delish.  The company delightful.  We talked about all of you who didn’t come.  A few brave souls even had a campfire for a bit.

And I didn’t take a single stinking picture!

But I believe my mom did.  So maybe she’ll send me some and then I can post them to embarrass the folks who were caught with their mouths half stuffed.

So if I have no photos why the post?  Because I did take some pictures before everyone arrived!  Let’s start today with the baby’s room, shall we?

Baby1

This would be straight in the door.  The dresser is really a changing table.  But I can’t find the changer part at the moment.  I suspect it’s still in Josh’s parents barn (hopefully with my Christmas ornaments and the baby bathtub that I also know are MIA).  I lurve the curtains.  They’re a rich chocolate velvet.  Orignally nearly $40 a piece, I randomly found them on the clearance cart when I walked into Lowe’s one day.

Bear

This cutey was my brothers when he was a tot.  He now hangs between the door and the closet.  That little mirror is just perfect for tiny faces.

Baby2

And here’s the other half of the room.  Please pardon the poor state of the rocker.  The cats decided it was a scratching post many years ago when it was relegated to the basement of the first house, before said basement was finished.  I’d really like to slip cover it in more chocolaty brown velvet, but I don’t see me finding the time to make such a thing and when I looked at one at Tar-zhay?  Oy vey!  I’m not spending that much.

The crib is currently housing a random collection of stuffed animals.  You can see Tigger.  And a bit of Raggedy Ann.  And the dirty white in the front right is a poor Mistletoe Bear who was loved to the point of being unworthy of the rest of the collection.  I just tossed ’em all in there for now.  If the Boy had his way, they’d all be on his bed, but then there’d be no room for him.  I’m not sure where they will land in the end.

We also have a mural I need to put up.  I won it in a blog giveaway.  Hoorah for freebies!  You can find it here.  It has so many fun characters!  And it’s that easily removable vinyl.  I sort of don’t want to put it on the wall.  Because once it goes up, if it comes down it’s done.  So I’m debating getting some art canvases, painting them with the wall colors, and then giving some of the critters a home that way.  Then I can move them about.  Or at least keep them whole for a bit longer than I suspect two small children would normally allow.

I’m not adding much more “art” to the walls at this point.  We’ll wait to see what the end of October brings – more blue or the addition of pink.  For now we’re sticking with the chocolate and cream or white. (Okay, and a smidge of sage green from things we picked up when the boy was born.  Like the basket liners and the ottoman.)

That’s all for today.  Up next – the Boy’s bedroom of blue!

