I made a trip to Estes Park last week for work.  I know, rough life, eh?  On the way down I stopped at Home Depot for a few hours to check out the offerings.  I only took about 150 pictures.  They’ve got fun stuff.  I also stopped by Menard’s over the weekend since they’re having “Project Days”.  That did not go so well.  Something about a rambunctious nearly 2 year old running crazy.  I nearly left the cart in the middle of the store and walked out.  Most of those pictures….blurry.  Unreadable.  *sigh*

But I did find a few things, and we’ll start making purchases soon.  In the meantime, have a gander at our siding options.  We have narrowed it down to 4.  Okay, okay.  Technically, Josh only likes 2 of these, but I like all 4.  So I’m posting them here for you to look at and tell us what YOU think.  (One thing first.  I know there are a few bloggers out there remodeling/building who are letting folks vote on what they use.  This ain’t one of those.  I want your opinion, I really do, but this is not a democracy – you get a say, but not the final vote.  Sorry – we’ve gotta live here.  You can come visit.)

We’re going with HardiePlank siding, that decision was easy as pie.  The wonderful folks at the James Hardie website have a cool tool where you can pick what “style” house you’ve got (or are building) and then play around with siding types & colors, trim color, and shingle colors.  I started with 12 options.  Here are the final 4:

This is “Iron Gray” – it’s the one Josh and I both really like.  My only concern?  Except for some slate tile in the master bathroom and the potential gray/dark whatever counters in the kitchen, most of the house will be in brown/green earthy tones.  Does it matter?  Probably not…

“Timberbark” – this would be my #2 choice.  But Josh thinks it’s too much like our current house.  Valid point…

Josh’s #1 pick.  It’s a very light gray (“Light Mist”).  Granted, most farm houses were white.  But I’m afraid this one might be a bit too blue-gray for my liking.  And would it stick out on the property like a sore thumb?  So you’d REALLY notice it from the road?  I’d like something that kinda blends in…

Did you say blend in?  This is option #4.  Josh doesn’t care for it.  Primarily because it’s extremely similar to our good friends’ house.  But the color would go well with the property (the name?  “Mountain Sage”.)

Now it’s your turn – leave a comment letting us know what you think.  Oh and *hint hint* there may be pictures of dirt moving machines tomorrow…

