Yesterday we put the house on the property. Or at least we put up some stakes and string that will show where the house GOES on the property. Out of our 7 acres, there is really only one building location – a hill that sits at the back corner along the Trail. The rest of the property is covered by a winding creek and the resultant flood plain. Thanks, but I did enough watershed modeling/flood remediation in St. Louis to know I have no desire to get any where close to the 100 year flood lines. So the hill it is. And really – what better place anyway?

Josh & I got there early. We decided to check on the status of the dozen trees we planted earlier this spring. Joshy is that white speck way out there…

We picked the trees up through the Arbor Day Foundation. They were a whopping 12″ tall when planted. I know, right? Most of them are doing well though. A few haven’t done a thing, but they say to wait at least a year before declaring them dead. I guess the process they use to ensure they stay dormant until you plant them may make the first year a no show. Considering I opted to push the limits and order the flowering trees, I’ll be happy if half survive to 5 years. I have enough pine trees already thanks.

Here’s Russ, our builder. Ain’t he just the cutest? It’s the hat…

And of course, in typical fashion we picked the hottest day yet to do this. It didn’t take us too horribly long though and the heat kept the skeeters at bay. I have never seen so many of the blood suckers in the Hills! We rehashed some dusty math skills and finally got everything put roughly in place…

(Looking at this photo now, I realize you can’t hardly see anything! The house outline is the yellow lines with the orange flags on them…)

It seems so small, but I know it’s not. It’s freaking huge. It’s that volume thing. So now we wait. The surveyor must come out and make sure we’re not too close to the trail. We’re hoping we may be able to bump it back a bit even. If not, we’ll probably move it a bit farther to the east. Right now the front corner of the garage is going to be hanging about 6′ in the air, and that ain’t a good thing. The surveyor will also put the house on the flood plain map to make the bank happy. And finally he’ll send everything to those pesky Forest Service guys so we can hopefully FINALLY get our easement. I know I said more on that this time, but I’ll leave that for another post…

And last but not least, while waiting for Russ I snapped a quick photo of a flower (because as my hubby would say I’m a fool for flower pictures – drives him nuts). When I got back to the ‘puter and loaded it up, I found this guy waiting for me.

And now…we wait. I hate waiting…

